Past Recipients of the Reed Medal

niconh	delits of the field
2016	LIM Puck Crowley
2016 2015	HW Buck Crowley Steven J. Simske
2013	Dinach Tuagi DhD
2014	Dinesh Tyagi, PhD
	Dr. William J. Ray
2012	Dr. Danny C. Rich
2011 2010	No Award Given Dr. Hadi Mahabadi
2010	Dr. Peter A. Crean
2012	Dr. Danny C. Rich
2012	No Award Given
2010	Dr. Hadi Mahabadi
2009	Dr. Peter A. Crean
2007	Dan Gelbart
2007	Eugene L. Langlais II
2006	Charles Krouse
2005	Ghilad Dziesietnik
2003	No Award Given
2003	Benny Landa
2002	No Award Given
2001	Richard McKrell
2000	Gary Field
1999	John F. Crosfield
1998	Anthony Johnson
1997	Friedrich K. Dolezalek
1996	Brian M. Chapman
1995	Brian M. Chapman Richard S. Fisch
1994	Philip Tobias
1993	Robert Downie
1992	Dr. William H. Banks
1991	Dr. Abraham B. Cohen
1990	Daniel J. Carlick
1989	Dr. William D. Schaeffer
1988	Dr. Louis Plambeck, Jr.
1987	Dr. William C. Walker
1986	John MacPhee
1985	George W. Jorgensen Robert W. Bassemir
1984	Robert W. Bassemir
1983	Frank M. Preucil
1982	Harold W. Gegenheimer
1981	Anson Hosley
1980 1979	Dr. Ing Rudolf Hell
1979	Clifford L. Jewett John A. C. Yule
1976	Albert R. Materazzi
1977	
1975	J. Thomas Morgan, Jr. No Award Given
1074	Michael Drupe

Michael Bruno

1974







Background

Established in 1974, the Reed Technology Medal perpetuates the memory of Robert F. Reed (1905–1973), "Dean of Lithography," whose contributions to the understanding of lithographic processes and materials were perhaps the most significant and important made by any man of his time.

Nominations are judged by an illustrious committee of past Reed Medal recipients and representatives of Printing Industries of America's Ben Franklin Honor Society. All of the judges must have demonstrated significant experience in the industry and are recognized as major contributors to the industry. Their backgrounds include expertise in all areas of the graphic arts. The recipient is presented with an engraved and die-struck bronze medal at the Annual Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) Conference.

Eligibility Requirements

A candidate must be a technically or scientifically oriented person who has worked as an engineer or a scientist in the graphic communications industry for a period of ten years or more.

- 1. A candidate must have an outstanding record of technical and scientific accomplishments that measurably aided the scientific development of the graphic communications industry.
- It is preferred that such activities be extended over a period of time and not be confined to one project or development.
- 3. Previous winners are not eligible for a second award. Candidates do not have to be Printing Industries of America members.
- New in 2018: Self-nominations are now permitted but must follow the same guidelines.

Nomination Instructions

Please provide the following materials when submitting a nomination. Missing information will be requested. If this information is not forthcoming, the nomination will be disqualified.

- Resume (or similar documentation) that supplies the candidate's complete education, work experience, and scientific/technical achievements.
- 2. Detailed descriptions of the candidate's major contributions and/or significant accomplishments. This may be combined with the resume.
- 3. A comprehensive list of the candidate's patents, books, journal articles, and other publications. Please provide the title, date, and other publishing information.

 Please note: this information is critical to the judging process, and missing or partial information will not present the nominee in the best light.
- 4. Detailed contact information for both the nominee and nominator.

All nominations are kept for a three-year period and then removed from the roster. Any new information must be provided and updated to be considered.

www.printing.org/reedaward